HI 285: Art and History in Modern China

Week 1: Introduction; Late Imperial China

Warring States Period (476–221 BCE) First Emperor of Qin (259–210 BCE) Qin Dynasty, 221–206 BCE Han Dynasty, 206 BC–221 CE

Mandate of Heaven Sacred mountains (Mount Tai = Taishan 泰山) Ancestor worship

Mandarin Chinese = Putonghua 普通話 = "standard language" Hanzi 漢字 (traditional), 汉字 (simplified) = "Chinese characters" Pinyin romanization (initials and finals) (four tones)

Loess ("loose soil") = huangtu 黄土 "yellow earth"

Yellow River = Huanghe 黄河 Huai River = Huaihe 淮河 Long River = Changjiang 長江 = Yangzi [Yangtze] River Pearl River = Yuejiang 粤江 "Yue River"

CORE PROVINCES:

Shandong 山東 = "East of the Mountains" (Taihang Mountains) Shanxi 山西 = "West of the Mountains" (Taihang Mountains) Shaanxi 陕西 = "West of the Pass"
Hebei 河北 = "North of the (Yellow) River"
Henan 河南 = "South of the (Yellow) River"
Hubei 湖北 = "North of the Lake" (Lake Dongting)
Hunan 湖南 = "South of the Lake" (Lake Dongting)
Guangdong 廣東 = "Eastern Guang" (Pearl River Delta)
Guangxi 廣西 = "Western Guang" (Pearl River Delta)
Yunnan 雲南 = "South of the Clouds"
Sichuan 四川 = "Four Rivers"
Zhejiang 浙江 = "Zhe River" (Qiantang River)
Jiangxi 江西 = "West on the (Long) River"

Jiangsu 江蘇 Fujian 福建 Anhui 安徽 Gansu 甘肅

MAJOR CITIES:

Beijing [Peking] 北京 = "Northern Capital" Nanjing 南京 = "Southern Capital" Xi'an 西安 = Formerly Chang'an 長安 (eastern terminus of the Silk Road) Shanghai 上海 = "[City] on the Sea" Hangzhou 杭州 (southern terminus of the Grand Canal) Suzhou 蘇州 (on Lake Tai = Taihu 太湖 "Great Lake") Wuhan 武漢 (on Yangtze River in central China, transportation hub) Guangzhou 廣州 = [Canton]

Matteo Ricci (1552–1610) [Jesuit priest]

Confucianism Neo-Confucianism Imperial examination system ($Shi \pm$)

Buddhism

Daoism [Taoism]

Naitō Konan (1866–1934) [Historian]

Song Dynasty (960–1279)

Great Wall

Forbidden City

"Late Imperial China"

Ming Dynasty (1368–1644)

Hongwu emperor (r. 1368–1398) Yongle emperor (r. 1402–1424)

Qing Dynasty (1644–1911)

Kangxi emperor (r. 1662–1723) Yongzheng emperor (r. 1723–1735) Qianlong emperor (r. 1735–1796)

Manchu ("Tartar")

Manchuria: Liaoning 遼寧, Jilin 吉林, Heilongjiang 黑龍江 [Provinces]

Three Feudatories Rebellion (1673–1681)

Xinjiang 新疆 "New Territories" [Province]

Qinghai 青海 "Blue-Green Sea" (named for Lake Qinghai) [Province]

Kangxi zidian 康熙字典 (1716) [Imperial dictionary project]

Gujin tushu jicheng 古今圖書集成 (1725) [Imperial encyclopedia project]

Siku quanshu 四庫全書 (1782) "Four Treasuries Library" [Imperial library project]

Da Qing Lüli 大清律例 "Laws and precedents of the Great Qing"